2015 Spring Okra Picks

Southern indie booksellers like their okra, and they love their southern books. The new list of Okra Picks --great southern books, fresh off the vine-- has just been released. A dozen new books that all have two things in common: They are southern in nature, and there is a southern indie bookseller that wants everyone to read each one! The SIBA Okra picks offer a curated reading list for every season.

Here are this year's picks:

Phenomenal: A Hesitant Adventurer's Search for Wonder in the Natural World Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781594204715
Availability: Special Order
Published: Penguin Press - March 24th, 2015

Elizabeth Gilbert, author of The Signature of All Things and Eat, Pray, Love


Trisha's Table: My Feel-Good Favorites for a Balanced Life Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780804186155
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarkson Potter Publishers - March 31st, 2015

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
The country music superstar, Food Network standout, and bestselling author shows how delicious and wholesome dishes are part of a balanced lifestyle.


The Water and the Wild Cover Image
By K. E. Ormsbee, Elsa Mora (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452113869
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - April 14th, 2015

A green apple tree grows in the heart of Thirsby Square, and tangled up in its magical roots is the story of Lottie Fiske. For as long as Lottie can remember, the only people who seem to care about her are her best friend, Eliot, and the mysterious letter writer who sends her birthday gifts.


Lowcountry Boneyard Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941962473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henery Press - April 21st, 2015

USA TODAY Bestselling Author - The AGATHA AWARD-WINNING Liz Talbot Mysteries "Has everything you could want in a traditional mystery: a credible and savvy protagonist, a meaty mystery, and setting that will make you want to spend time in South Carolina.


The Bone Tree Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062311115
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: William Morrow & Company - April 21st, 2015

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Greg Iles comes the second novel in his Natchez Burning trilogy--which also includes Natchez Burning and the upcoming Mississippi Blood--an epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice, featuring Southern lawyer Penn Cage.


Valiant Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781606845523
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Egmontusa - April 28th, 2015

Saville hates sewing. How can she not when her father, the Tailor, loves his bolts of velvet and silk far more than he's ever loved her? Yet, when he is struck ill shortly after they arrive in the city of Reggen, Saville must don boy's clothes in the hopes of gaining a commission from the king to keep them fed.


Minnow Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781938235115
Availability: Special Order
Published: Hub City Press - May 1st, 2015

Minnow is an otherworldly story of a small boy who leaves his dying father's bedside hunting a medicine for a mysterious illness. Sent by his mother to a local druggist in their coastal town, Minnow unexpectedly takes a dark and wondrous journey deep into the ancient Sea Islands, seeking the grave dust of a long-dead hoodoo man to buy him a cure.


At the Corner of King Street Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425278253
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - May 5th, 2015

The author of The Union Street Bakery presentsa new novel about a woman searching for a fresh start while unable to forget the past


The World's Largest Man: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062351494
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - May 12th, 2015

Winner of the 2016 Thurber Prize

The riotous, tender story of a bookish Mississippi boy and his flawed, Bunyanesque father, told with the comic verve of David Sedaris and the deft satire of Mark Twain or Roy Blount, Jr.


Anything Could Happen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545709545
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Push - May 26th, 2015

Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else's business. Which makes it hard for him to be in love with his straight best friend. For his part, Matt is completely oblivious to the way Tretch feels - and Tretch can't tell whether that makes it better or worse.


The Evidence Room: A Mystery Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781250031150
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Minotaur Books - June 2nd, 2015

This atmospheric and beautifully written police procedural is set in Florida where a murder of a young mother shook a small bayou town to its core. Twenty years later, the victim's daughter returns to the scene of the crime and learns that the tragedy of her past has very real consequences for her future.


Duncan the Story Dragon Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385755078
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2015

A charming story about the joys of reading that is perfect for fans of Dog Loves Books and Stellaluna.

Duncan the Dragon loves to read. When he reads a story, his imagination catches fire Unfortunately . . . so does his book.


A Week at the Lake Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780425274477
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - June 23rd, 2015

From the "USA Today" bestselling author of "The House on Mermaid Point "comes a powerful novel about secrets, loyalty, and the bonds of true friendship . . .