Happy St. Patrick's Day!

About a month after Mardi Gras, as the Calendar of Saints turns, we alight upon the feast day of St. Patrick where upon we are free to imbibe all of the green beer we can get our hands on (and unsurprisingly it is quite a lot). St. Patrick’s feast day falls on March 17th, his death date, and commemorates both St. Patrick himself and the arrival of Christianity in Ireland. The day also stands to celebrate Irish culture and heritage in general. Many parades and festivals are held and Lenten sacrifices are lifted for the day (thus the popularity of green beer – drinking is banned during Lent). The Irish are a lively and interesting people with a long and deep literary culture. Here are a few books by and about the Irish:

Ireland's Saint: The Essential Biography of St. Patrick Cover Image
By J. B. Bury, Jon M. Sweeney (Editor)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781612613338
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Paraclete Press (MA) - January 2nd, 2013

Explore Patrick's place in history, the spread of Christianity beyond the Roman Empire, how Patrick first came to Ireland, the influence of the earlier Palladius on Patrick's work, political and social conditions at that time, and the spiritual battles with the Druids.


The Night Before St. Patrick's Day Cover Image
By Natasha Wing, Amy Wummer (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780448448527
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grosset & Dunlap - January 22nd, 2009

It's the night before St. Patrick's Day, and Tim and Maureen are wide awake setting traps to catch a leprechaun When they wake the next morning to the sound of their dad playing the bagpipes and the smell of their mom cooking green eggs, they're shocked to find that they've actually caught a leprechaun. But will they be able to find his pot of gold?


St. Patrick's Day Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780823411733
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Holiday House - January 1st, 1994

The story of Patrick's life and how the day is celebrated.


Leprechaun in Late Winter [With Sticker(s)] Cover Image
By Mary Pope Osborne, Sal Murdocca (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780375856518
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 24th, 2012

The #1 bestselling chapter book series of all time celebrates 25 years with new covers and a new, easy-to-use numbering system


Leprechauns and Irish Folklore: A Nonfiction Companion to Magic Tree House Merlin Mission #15: Leprechaun in Late Winter Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780375860096
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 12th, 2010

The #1 bestselling chapter book series of all time celebrates 25 years with new covers and a new, easy-to-use numbering system Getting the facts behind the fiction has never looked better.

Track the facts with Jack and Annie


How the Irish Saved Civilization: The Untold Story of Ireland's Heroic Role from the Fall of Rome to the Rise of Medieval Europe Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780385418492
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor Books - February 1st, 1996

The perfect St. Patrick's Day gift, and a book in the best tradition of popular history -- the untold story of Ireland's role in maintaining Western culture while the Dark Ages settled on Europe.


Ulysses Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780679722762
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage Books USA - June 16th, 1990

This revised volume follows the complete unabridged text as corrected in 1961. Contains the original foreword by the author and the historic court ruling to remove the federal ban. It also contains page references to the first American edition of 1934.


Song of Ireland Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780765336804
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Tor Books - February 4th, 2014

The Danu. The "little people." Everyone who is Irish knows of this mystical race. Many doubt they ever existed. However, there are as many today who claim that they are still among us. What if the Danu were not myth but were based on historical evidence?


Rick Steves Ireland 2015 Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781612389745
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Avalon Travel Publishing - December 9th, 2014

You can count on Rick Steves to tell you what you really need to know when traveling in Ireland.


Angela's Ashes: A Memoir Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780684842677
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 24th, 1999

A Pulitzer Prize-winning, #1 New York Times bestseller, Angela's Ashes is Frank McCourt's masterful memoir of his childhood in Ireland.


A Long Long Way Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143035091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - September 8th, 2005

Praised as a "master storyteller" (The Wall Street Journal) and hailed for his "flawless use of language" (Boston Herald), Irish author and playwright Sebastian Barry has created a powerful new novel about divided loyalties and the realities of war.


Country Girl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316122719
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - May 6th, 2014

"Country Girl is Edna O'Brien's exquisite account of her dashing, barrier-busting, up-and-down life."--National Public Radio


In the Woods Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143113492
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - May 27th, 2008

The bestselling debut with over a million copies sold that launched Tana French, "required reading for anyone who appreciates tough, unflinching intelligence and ingenious plotting" (The New York Times), who is "the most interesting, most important crime novelist to emerge in the past 10 years" (The Washington Post)


The Commitments Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780679721741
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - July 17th, 1989

In the first volume of the Barrytown Trilogy, Roddy Doyle, winner of the Booker Prize forPaddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, introduces The Commitments, a group of fame-starved, working-class Irish youths with a paradoxical passion for the music of Sam Cooke and Otis Redding and a mission to bring Soul to Dublin.


Dubliners Cover Image
By James Joyce, Colum McCann (Foreword by), Terence Brown (Introduction by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143107453
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - May 27th, 2014

For the centennial of its original publication, an irresistible Deluxe Edition of one of the most beloved books of the 20th century--featuring a foreword by Colum McCann, the bestselling author of Let the Great World Spin and TransAtlantic


Tara Road Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780385341813
Availability: Backordered
Published: Dell - May 29th, 2007

Ria lived on Tara Road in Dublin with her dashing husband, Danny, and their two children. She fully believed she was happily married, right up until the day Danny told her he was leaving her to be with his young, pregnant girlfriend. By a chance phone call, Ria meets Marilyn, a woman from New England unable to come to terms with her only son's death and now separated from her husband.


An Irish Country Village Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780765368256
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge - January 3rd, 2012

Patrick Taylor first charmed readers with An Irish Country Doctor, a warm and enchanting novel in the tradition of James Herriot and Jan Karon. Now Taylor returns to the colorful Northern Ireland community of Ballybucklebo, where there's always something brewing beneath the village's deceptively sleepy surface.


The Maiden of Ireland Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780778316466
Availability: Special Order
Published: Mira Books - August 26th, 2014

www.SusanWiggs.com#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs sweeps readers away to the misty coast of Ireland in an irresistible tale of falling in love with the enemy... John Wesley Hawkins was condemned to hang, accused of treason and heresy.


Irish Dreams Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780373281510
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Silhouette Books - August 30th, 2011


Irish Rebel


Irish Hearts: Irish Thoroughbred\Irish Rose Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780373281503
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Silhouette Books - June 28th, 2011

IRISH THOROUGHBRED
Irish lass Adelia Cunnane had entered a fairy tale Working at the world-renowned Royal Meadows stables was a dream come true. She was determined to prove her worth, especially to the stables' ownerthe very opinionated and ruggedly handsome Travis Grant. Princesses weren't the only ones who could have a happily-ever-after
IRISH ROSE