A Read & Review Club Review: The Skeleton Tree by Iain Lawrence

The CHB Read & Review Club is for educators and students who enjoy reading and would like to share the joy of reading with others through reviewing and recommending books. As a bookshop, we often receive special review copies of books in advance of their release dates so that we can review them. However, since we can only read so many books and we value the thoughts and opinions of other readers, CHB is recruiting educators and students to read and review advance reader copies (or arcs) of books that we receive, and we'll post their reviews on the Cavalier House Books website via the Read & Review Club Blog!

Samantha B. (16) is a Read & Review Club member, and she has written a review of The Skeleton Tree by Iain Lawrence!

From the publisher’s marketing: “Less than forty-eight hours after twelve-year-old Chris sets off on a sailing trip down the Alaskan coast with his uncle, their boat sinks. The only survivors are Chris and a boy named Frank, who hates Chris immediately. Chris and Frank have no radio, no flares, no food. Suddenly, they’ve got to forage, fish, and scavenge the shore for supplies. Chris likes the company of a curious, friendly raven more than he likes the prickly Frank. But the boys have to get along if they want to survive. Because as the days get colder and the salmon migration ends, survival will take more than sheer force of will. Eventually, in the wilderness of Alaska, the boys discover an improbable bond and the compassion that might truly be the path to rescue."

Check out what Samantha has to say about the book:

A tale of an unlikely friendship, past secrets, hope, and fear, The Skeleton Tree by Iain Lawrence was beautiful and exciting. It is the Hatchet for this generation; I loved this book. It is exciting and well-written with believable characters in a setting that is beautiful yet frightening. I did not want to put this book down! The Skeleton Tree kept me on my toes the entire time. Lawrence moves between past and present in this book, and while it may be easy for some readers to keep up with the changes others might have a bit of difficulty keeping up. While the book may have kept me on my toes, the beginning was a little hard to get into. Some parts were fun and fast paced while others were slower and it was hard for it to keep my attention but overall I did not want to put this book down. I absolutely loved it and I cannot wait to read more from Iain Lawrence. The book was beautifully written and the cover of the book was absolutely amazing! Only the wild survive, and Chris won’t survive without the friendship and help of Frank. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure novels.

Thanks to Samantha for her review!

The Skeleton Tree Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385733786
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - January 5th, 2016

A modern-day adventure and classic in the making, in the vein of The Call of the Wild, Hatchet, and The Cay, by award-winning author Iain Lawrence.
A Junior Library Guild Selection


Hatchet Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416936473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 1st, 2007

This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared--and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.