A Read & Review Club Review: Traveler by Arwen Dayton

The CHB Read & Review Club is for educators and students who enjoy reading and would like to share the joy of reading with others through reviewing and recommending books. As a bookshop, we often receive special review copies of books in advance of their release dates so that we can review them. However, since we can only read so many books and we value the thoughts and opinions of other readers, CHB is recruiting educators and students to read and review advance reader copies (or arcs) of books that we receive, and we'll post their reviews on the Cavalier House Books website via the Read & Review Club Blog!

Haylee H. (16) is a Read & Review Club member, and she has written a review of Traveler, the sequel to Seeker, by Iain Arwen Dayton!

From the publisher’s marketing: "Quin Kincaid is a Seeker. Her legacy is an honor, an ancient role passed down for generations. But what she learned on her Oath night changed her world forever.
Quin pledged her life to deception. Her legacy as a Seeker is not noble but savage. Her father, a killer. Her uncle, a liar. Her mother, a casualty. And the boy she once loved is out for vengeance, with her family in his sights. Yet Quin is not alone. Shinobu, her oldest companion, might now be the only person she can trust. The only one who wants answers as desperately as she does. But the deeper they dig into the past, the darker things become. There are long-vanished Seeker families, shadowy alliances, and something else: a sinister plan begun generations ago, with the power to destroy them all. The past is close. And it will destroy them all."

Check out what Haylee has to say about the book:

I liked this book very much. The plot is very complex and goes deep into the past. As the book goes on, you continue to unravel more and more of the beautiful web that Dayton has spun. The backstory has such a great idea behind it, but I didn’t think the presentation lived up to expectation. Many characters aren’t very well-rounded, but there are a few characters with very good development through this book. I found that the unravelling can be quite, quite slow. At times, this book had me on the edge of my seat; there are some really amazing cliffhangers. Sadly, most of the book, like its precedent, had a lot of blobs of plainly-given information. A good part of the first book is spent setting up all the background, and although the author gives a lot of that information in Traveler as well, I would advise against reading this book without reading Seeker first. Despite this, it’s a very good book all-in-all. It’s not a one night read, if that’s what you are looking for, but if you are willing to spend a few days reading this book, you won’t regret it. The highs are worth all of the lows. I definitely would recommend Traveler to anyone.

Thanks to Haylee for her review!

Traveler Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385744126
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - January 12th, 2016

For readers of Game of Thrones and Marie Lu Traveler, the sequel to Seeker.
Quin Kincaid is a Seeker. Her legacy is an honor, an ancient role passed down for generations. But what she learned on her Oath night changed her world forever.


Seeker Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780385744089
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - December 1st, 2015

"Katniss and Tris would approve." --TeenVogue.com

"This book will not disappoint." --USAToday.com

"Fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent, Marie Lu's Legend, and Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived." --SLJ