Announcing the 2019 Spring Okra Picks!

The onset of spring means extra hours of daylight which means more time to read! Southern independent booksellers have collected a reading list that will keep those extra hours filled: the 2019 Spring Okra Picks – a collection of the best forthcoming Southern books of the season. Every book on the list has these things in common: they are Southern in nature, they release sometime between April and June, and they have a following among Southern indie booksellers, who can’t wait to introduce them to new readers.

Stay up a little bit later and read. Put a pile of Okra Picks by your bed.

Books: 
Mothers and Strangers: Essays on Motherhood from the New South Cover Image
By Samia Serageldin (Editor), Lee Smith (Editor)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781469651675
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of North Carolina Press - April 2019

In this anthology of creative nonfiction, twenty-eight writers set out to discover what they know, and don't know, about the person they call Mother. Celebrated writers Samia Serageldin and Lee Smith have curated a diverse and insightful collection that challenges stereotypes about mothers and expands our notions of motherhood in the South.


I Miss You When I Blink: Essays Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982102807
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - April 2nd, 2019

“I've spent my adult life prowling bookshelves for the modern-day reincarnation of my favorite authors—Nora Ephron, Erma Bombeck, Jean Kerr, and Laurie Colwin—all rolled into one...Good news: I have finally found their successor.” —Elisabeth Egan, The Washington Post

Acclaimed essayist and bookseller Mary Laura Philpott presents a charmingly r


The Gulf: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978341
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - April 2nd, 2019

A hilarious send-up of writing workshops, for-profit education, and the gulf between believers and nonbelievers


Caterpillar Summer Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781681197432
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - April 2nd, 2019

This beautifully written, emotional debut perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt or Ali Benjamin tells the story a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget.

"An engaging, honest book." --Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Newbery Honor-winning author of The War That Saved My Life


The Magnetic Girl Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781938235481
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hub City Press - April 9th, 2019

Wall Street Journal's Ten Books You'll Want to Read This Spring Indie Next Pick, April 2019 Spring Okra Pick from the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance

In rural north Georgia two decades after the Civil War, thirteen-year-old Lulu Hurst reaches high into her father's bookshelf and pulls out an obscure book, The Truth of Me


Southern Lady Code: Essays Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780385543897
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - April 16th, 2019

"I loved it." —Ann Patchett 


Like Lions: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250206947
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - April 30th, 2019

"A book filled with unforgettable characters and a tension that heightens with every chapter." The Wall Street Journal

A powerful follow up to multiple award-winning debut Bull Mountain.


Papa Put a Man on the Moon Cover Image
By Kristy Dempsey, Sarah Green (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735230743
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - May 7th, 2019

In time for the fiftieth anniversary of the moon landing, this father-daughter story celebrates a small community's big contribution to one of America's greatest accomplishments.


The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492671527
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - May 7th, 2019

"...a hauntingly atmospheric love letter to the first mobile library in Kentucky and the fierce, brave packhorse librarians who wove their way from shack to shack dispensing literacy, hope, and -- just as importantly -- a compassionate human connection."--Sara Gruen, author of Water for Elephants


Don't Date Rosa Santos Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368039703
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - May 14th, 2019

For fans of GILMORE GIRLS and TO ALL THE BOYS I'VE LOVED BEFORE, this effervescent love story from debut author Nina Moreno will sweep you away.

Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea-at least, that's what they say. Dating her is bad news, especially if you're a boy with a boat.


Smokelore: A Short History of Barbecue in America Cover Image
$32.95
ISBN: 9780820338415
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Georgia Press - June 2019

Barbecue: It's America in a mouthful. The story of barbecue touches almost every aspect of our history. It involves indigenous culture, the colonial era, slavery, the Civil War, the settling of the West, the coming of immigrants, the Great Migration, the rise of the automobile, the expansion of suburbia, the rejiggering of gender roles. It encompasses every region and demographic group.


In West Mills Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781635573404
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - June 4th, 2019

"A bighearted novel about family, migration, and the unbearable difficulties of love. Here's a cast of characters you won't soon forget." Ayana Mathis, author of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie


The Travelers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525576198
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hogarth - June 18th, 2019

“American history comes to vivid, engaging life in this tale of two interconnected families (one white, one black) that spans from the 1950s to Barack Obama’s first year as president. . . . The complex, beautifully drawn characters are unique and indelible.”—Entertainment Weekly
 


The Accident of Color: A Story of Race in Reconstruction Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780393247442
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 18th, 2019

In The Accident of Color, Daniel Brook journeys to nineteenth-century New Orleans and Charleston and introduces us to cosmopolitan residents who elude the racial categories the rest of America takes for granted. Before the Civil War, these free, openly mixed-race urbanites enjoyed some rights of citizenship and the privileges of wealth and social status.