Announcing the 2019 Summer Okra Picks!

Hot summer days, whether inside or on the beach, are the perfect opportunity to dig into some fresh reads. Lucky for you, southern independent booksellers have arranged and announced their Summer Okra Picks! The Okra Picks collect the best forthcoming fiction, nonfiction, and children’s books of the season. While each read carries its own flavor and perspective there are some things all these books share: they are Southern in nature, release sometime between July and September, and come highly recommended among Southern indie booksellers!

Books: 
Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781571313782
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - July 9th, 2019

An Indie Next Selection for July 2019
An Indies Introduce Selection for Summer/Fall 2019
A 2019 Okra Pick
A Publishers Weekly "Pick of the Week"


The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492678861
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - July 9th, 2019

"An amazing novel, one which interrogates, with such controlled and beautiful writing, what it means to be Southern. Utilizing a unique form and a carefully crafted mystery, Bobotis is a writer capable of deep truths, and this novel announces her as a major voice." --Kevin Wilson, author The Family Fang, Perfect Little World, and Baby, You're Gonna Be Mine


The Substitution Order: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525656326
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - July 9th, 2019

From Martin Clark--praised by Entertainment Weekly as "our best legal-thriller writer"--comes a wickedly clever, tenderhearted, and intricately plotted novel about a hard-luck lawyer's refusal to concede defeat, even as fate, the court system, and a gang of untouchable con artists conspire against him.


The Nickel Boys: A Novel Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780385537070
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - July 16th, 2019

In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.


Never Have I Ever: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062855312
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: William Morrow - July 30th, 2019

“Wonderful—suspense and surprises, real characters, and a scary, ominous backbeat.  This feels like the book Jackson was born to write.” —Lee Child, New York Times bestselling author


The Book Charmer Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982135669
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: Gallery Books - July 30th, 2019

New York Times bestselling author Karen Hawkins crafts an unforgettable story about a sleepy Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a truly magical friendship.

Sarah Dove is no ordinary bookworm. To her, books have always been more than just objects: they live, they breathe, and sometimes they even speak.


Sing a Song: How Lift Every Voice and Sing Inspired Generations Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525516095
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 6th, 2019

Just in time for the 120th anniversary of the song "Lift Every Voice and Sing"--this stirring book celebrates the Black National Anthem and how it inspired five generations of a family.

Sing a song full of the faith that the dark past has taught us.
Sing a song full of the hope that the present has brought us.


Stay Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062839220
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 13th, 2019

Fans of Pax and A Dog’s Way Home will love this heartwarming story of a girl living in a shelter and the homeless dog she’s determined to reunite with his family.


The Yellow House Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802125088
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: Grove Press - August 13th, 2019

In 1961, Sarah M. Broom's mother Ivory Mae bought a shotgun house in the then-promising neighborhood of New Orleans East and built her world inside of it. It was the height of the Space Race and the neighborhood was home to a major NASA plant--the postwar optimism seemed assured.


My Jasper June Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062836625
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: Walden Pond Press - September 3rd, 2019

“This book is a treasure—a touching story of friendship, loss, and finding beauty in the everyday, with characters who stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page. I absolutely loved it.”—R. J. Palacio, New York Times bestselling author of Wonder


The Edge of America Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781950182008
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: Haywire Books - September 10th, 2019

Red at the Bone: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525535270
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: Riverhead Books - September 17th, 2019

An extraordinary new novel about the influence of history on a contemporary family, from the New York Times-bestselling and National Book Award-winning author of Another Brooklyn and Brown Girl Dreaming.


No Judgments: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062913579
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!
Published: William Morrow - September 24th, 2019

The storm of the century is about to hit Little Bridge Island, Florida—and it’s sending waves crashing through Sabrina “Bree” Beckham’s love life…