Blueberry Girl (Paperback)

Blueberry Girl Cover Image
By Neil Gaiman, Charles Vess (Illustrator)
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Summer 2009 Kids' List


“Neil Gaiman has written a beautiful, multicultural celebration. Three wise women (a maiden, mother, and crone) watch as an infant becomes a girl who transforms into a woman of strength and character. Warm and wonderful illustrations perfectly capture the text.”
— Ellen Richmond, Children's Book Cellar, Waterville, ME

Description


From New York Times bestselling and Newbery Medal-winning author Neil Gaiman comes an affirming poem for unconventional, powerful, growing daughters at any age.

A much-loved baby grows into a young woman: brave, adventurous, and lucky. Exploring, traveling, bathed in sunshine, surrounded by the wonders of the world. What every new parent or parent-to-be dreams of for her child, what every girl dreams of for herself.

Neil Gaiman and beloved illustrator Charles Vess turn a wish for a new daughter into a book that celebrates the glory of growing up: a perfect gift for girls embarking on all the journeys of life, for their parents, and for everyone who loves them.

This beautiful picture book is a lovely graduation or baby shower gift.

Praise For…


“A magical blessing for unconventional girls. Fans of Gaiman and Vess will pounce on this creation; so too will readers who seek for their daughters affirmation that sidesteps traditional spiritual conventions.”

“A rich and beautiful prayer for a girl. There is nothing cute or cloying here, just beauty, balance and joy.”

“An enchanting lullaby poem brought to life by magical paintings for mothers and daughters (whatever their ages).”

“It is astonishingly lovely.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780060838102
ISBN-10: 0060838108
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 8th, 2011
Pages: 32
Language: English