Two Tribes (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Two Tribes By Emily Bowen Cohen, Emily Bowen Cohen (Illustrator) Cover Image
$15.99
Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now!

Description


In her poignant debut graphic novel inspired by her own life, Emily Bowen Cohen embraces the complexity, meaning, and deep love that comes from being part of two vibrant tribes.

Mia is still getting used to living with her mom and stepfather, and to the new role their Jewish identity plays in their home. Feeling out of place at home and at her Jewish day school, Mia finds herself thinking more and more about her Muscogee father, who lives with his new family in Oklahoma. Her mother doesn’t want to talk about him, but Mia can’t help but feel like she’s missing a part of herself without him in her life.

Soon, Mia makes a plan to use the gifts from her bat mitzvah to take a bus to Oklahoma—without telling her mom—to visit her dad and find the connection to her Muscogee side she knows is just as important as her Jewish side.

This graphic novel by Muscogee-Jewish writer and artist Emily Bowen Cohen is perfect for fans of American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang. It is published by Heartdrum, an imprint that centers stories about contemporary Indigenous young people.

About the Author


Emily Bowen Cohen is a member of the Muscogee Nation. She spent her childhood in Okemah, OK, and her teen years in Montclair, NJ, before graduating from Harvard University. She and her husband live in Los Angeles. You can find her memoir-style comics at memberoftwotribes.com.



Emily Bowen Cohen is a member of the Muscogee Nation. She spent her childhood in Okemah, OK, and her teen years in Montclair, NJ, before graduating from Harvard University. She and her husband live in Los Angeles. You can find her memoir-style comics at memberoftwotribes.com.

Praise For…


"The story is well crafted, with Jewish and Muscogee beliefs integrated to great effect and art that enhances the text. A powerful graphic novel about honoring every part of our identity." — Kirkus Reviews



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062983589
ISBN-10: 006298358X
Publisher: Heartdrum
Publication Date: August 15th, 2023
Pages: 256
Language: English