Life and Other Love Songs (Hardcover)

Life and Other Love Songs By Anissa Gray Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


“Musical in structure—the octaves rise when the music calls for it; truths are revealed by the invisible beats of this gorgeous, rich story” –Ann Napolitano, New York Times bestselling author of Hello Beautiful (Oprah’s Book Club Pick)

“Riveting, rhythmic, transcendent...a stellar family saga.”—Jacqueline Woodson, New York Times bestselling author of Red at the Bone


Named a Most Anticipated Book by Time EssenceReal SimpleGood HousekeepingAtlanta-Journal Constitution ∙ The Root ∙ SheReads ∙ Atlanta Magazine ∙ Zibby Mag
 
A father’s sudden disappearance exposes the private fears, dreams, longings, and joys of a Black American family in the late decades of the twentieth century, in this page-turning and intimate new novel from the author of The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls.

It’s a warm, bright October afternoon, and Ozro Armstead walks out into the brilliant sunshine on his thirty-seventh birthday. At home, his wife Deborah and daughter Trinity prepare a surprise celebration; down the street, his brother waves as Oz heads back to his office after having lunch together.
 
But he won’t make it to the party or even to his briefcase back at his desk. He's about to disappear.
 
In the days, months, and years to follow, Deborah and Trinity look backward and forward as they piece together the life of the man they love, but whom they come to realize they might never have truly known.
 
In a gripping narrative that moves from the Great Migration to 1970s Detroit and 1990s New York, we follow the hopes, triumphs, losses, and secrets that build up and tear apart an American family.

About the Author


Anissa Gray is the author of the novel The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls. She is also an award-winning journalist whose work has been featured in The Washington Post, CNN, and The Cut. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her wife.

Praise For…


“Anissa Gray is a genius…magnificent!”
Caroline Kepnes

Life and Other Love Songs is a precisely observed, often beautiful book about family, love, loss and the hidden history that shapes lives…The prose is beautiful and poignant.”
The New York Times

"This novel wields themes of generational trauma, class and race as pickaxes, excavating a Black family’s history and making room for the future to bloom.”
Essence

“Riveting, rhythmic, transcendent, Life and Other Love Songs is a stellar family saga. Anissa Gray is a writer to watch.”
Jacqueline Woodson, New York Times bestselling author of Red at the Bone

Life and Other Love Songs builds beautifully—we care about these characters while coming to understand that the ground beneath their feet is constructed of secrets. Anissa Gray’s novel feels musical in structure—the octaves rise when the music calls for it; truths are revealed by the invisible beats of this gorgeous, rich story.”
Ann Napolitano, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Edward and Oprah Book Club Pick Hello Beautiful

“Anissa Gray's Life and Other Love Songs is one of those rare novels that pulled me out of my life for a few days. The characters are real, vivid, complex - as in life. It's a story that explores the depths of darkness and fear, yet offers a window into hope.”
Mary Beth Keane, New York Times bestselling author of Ask Again, Yes

“Cleverly structured and emotionally precise, Love and Other Love Songs is a powerhouse ballad about a family whose histories—shared and individualwill pierce straight to the heart. With empathy and insight, Anissa Gray writes an expertly crafted family drama perfect for fans of Celeste Ng.”
Tara Conklin, New York Times bestselling author The Last Romantics

Life and Other Love Songs is a harsh, sometimes haunting, astonishingly moving, exceptionally complex novel about family and music and hurt  and fear and pride and love and loss. Anissa Gray tells this story with such grace, insight and precision that readers will think of these characters long after they close the book. This is what writing should be.”
LaToya Watkins, author of Perish

"Gray does not disappoint.”
Publishers Weekly

"The trajectory of Gray's flawed but relatable characters offers hope that even deep, long-festering wounds can heal.”
Kirkus Reviews

"Gray shows the complex natures of these broken characters and how abuse, deceit, and life’s struggles are all made worse by racism, poverty, and homophobia.  A great pick for book clubs and an essential purchase.”
Library Journal

"Humming with heart and just enough suspense to keep the pages turning, this is arresting.”
Booklist

"A powerful narrative that explores the realities of race, class, and generational history in the twentieth century.”
The Root


Product Details
ISBN: 9781984802460
ISBN-10: 1984802461
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: April 11th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English