Happy St. Patrick's Day!

About a month after Mardi Gras, as the Calendar of Saints turns, we alight upon the feast day of St. Patrick where upon we are free to imbibe all of the green beer we can get our hands on (and unsurprisingly it is quite a lot). St. Patrick’s feast day falls on March 17th, his death date, and commemorates both St. Patrick himself and the arrival of Christianity in Ireland. The day also stands to celebrate Irish culture and heritage in general. Many parades and festivals are held and Lenten sacrifices are lifted for the day (thus the popularity of green beer – drinking is banned during Lent). The Irish are a lively and interesting people with a long and deep literary culture. Here are a few books by and about the Irish:

Ireland's Saint: The Essential Biography of St. Patrick By J. B. Bury, Jon M. Sweeney (Editor) Cover Image
By J. B. Bury, Jon M. Sweeney (Editor)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781612613338
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Paraclete Press - January 2nd, 2013

Explore Patrick’s place in history, the spread of Christianity beyond the Roman Empire, how Patrick first came to Ireland, the influence of the earlier Palladius on Patrick’s work, political and social conditions at that time, and the spiritual battles with the Druids.


The Night Before St. Patrick's Day By Natasha Wing, Amy Wummer (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Natasha Wing, Amy Wummer (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448448527
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grosset & Dunlap - January 22nd, 2009

Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day in this installment of Natasha Wing’s best-selling series, a fun read-aloud sure to keep kids engaged and laughing out loud!


St. Patrick's Day By Gail Gibbons Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780823411733
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Holiday House - January 1st, 1994

Every year on March 17th, people all over the world celebrate St. Patrick's Day!

In this bright picture book, nonfiction master Gail Gibbons tells you everything you need to know about this holiday. You'll learn the story of Patrick's life, legends about the saint, and the history of the holiday.


Leprechaun in Late Winter (Magic Tree House (R) Merlin Mission #15) By Mary Pope Osborne, Sal Murdocca (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mary Pope Osborne, Sal Murdocca (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780375856518
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 24th, 2012

The #1 bestselling chapter book series of all time celebrates 25 years with new covers and a new, easy-to-use numbering system!


Leprechauns and Irish Folklore: A Nonfiction Companion to Magic Tree House Merlin Mission #15: Leprechaun in Late Winter (Magic Tree House (R) Fact Tracker #21) By Mary Pope Osborne, Natalie Pope Boyce, Sal Murdocca (Illustrator) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780375860096
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 12th, 2010

The #1 bestselling chapter book series of all time celebrates 25 years with new covers and a new, easy-to-use numbering system! Getting the facts behind the fiction has never looked better.

Track the facts with Jack and Annie!
 


NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A book in the best tradition of popular history—the untold story of Ireland's role in maintaining Western culture while the Dark Ages settled on Europe. • The perfect St. Patrick's Day gift!


Ulysses (Vintage International) By James Joyce Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780679722762
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - June 16th, 1990

This revised volume of the acclaimed novel follows the complete unabridged text as corrected in 1961.


Song of Ireland By Juilene Osborne-McKnight Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765336804
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - February 4th, 2014

The Danu. The "little people." Everyone who is Irish knows of this mystical race. Many doubt they ever existed. However, there are as many today who claim that they are still among us. What if the Danu were not myth but were based on historical evidence?


Angela's Ashes: A Memoir By Frank McCourt Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780684842677
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - May 25th, 1999

A Pulitzer Prize–winning, #1 New York Times bestseller, Angela’s Ashes is Frank McCourt’s masterful memoir of his childhood in Ireland.

“When I look back on my childhood I wonder how I managed to survive at all. It was, of course, a miserable childhood: the happy childhood is hardly worth your while.


A Long Long Way By Sebastian Barry Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143035091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - September 8th, 2005

A powerful new novel about divided loyalties and the realities of war from “master storyteller” (Wall Street Journal) Sebastian Barry, author of Old God's Time


Country Girl: A Memoir By Edna O'Brien Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780316122719
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - May 6th, 2014

"Country Girl is Edna O'Brien's exquisite account of her dashing, barrier-busting, up-and-down life."-National Public Radio


In the Woods: A Novel (Dublin Murder Squad #1) By Tana French Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143113492
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - May 27th, 2008

The bestselling debut, with over a million copies sold, that launched Tana French, author of the forthcoming novel The Hunter and “the most important crime novelist to emerge in the past 10 years” (The Washington Post). 


The Commitments (Vintage Contemporaries) By Roddy Doyle Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780679721741
Availability: Special Order
Published: Vintage - July 17th, 1989

In the first volume of the Barrytown Trilogy, Roddy Doyle, winner of the Booker Prize for Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, introduces The Commitments, a group of fame-starved, working-class Irish youths with a paradoxical passion for the music of Sam Cooke and Otis Redding and a mission—to bring Soul to Dublin.


Dubliners: Centennial Edition (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) By James Joyce, Colum McCann (Foreword by), Terence Brown (Introduction by), Terence Brown (Notes by), Roman Muradov (Illustrator) Cover Image
By James Joyce, Colum McCann (Foreword by), Terence Brown (Introduction by), Terence Brown (Notes by), Roman Muradov (Illustrator)
$19.00
ISBN: 9780143107453
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Classics - May 27th, 2014

For the centennial of its original publication, an irresistible Deluxe Edition of one of the most beloved books of the 20th century—featuring a foreword by Colum McCann, the bestselling author of Let the Great World Spin and TransAtlantic


Tara Road: A Novel By Maeve Binchy Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780385341813
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dell - May 29th, 2007

Ria lived on Tara Road in Dublin with her dashing husband, Danny, and their two children. She fully believed she was happily married, right up until the day Danny told her he was leaving her to be with his young, pregnant girlfriend. By a chance phone call, Ria meets Marilyn, a woman from New England unable to come to terms with her only son's death and now separated from her husband.


An Irish Country Village: A Novel (Irish Country Books #2) By Patrick Taylor Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780765368256
Availability: Backordered
Published: Forge Books - January 3rd, 2012

Patrick Taylor first charmed readers with An Irish Country Doctor, a warm and enchanting novel in the tradition of James Herriot and Jan Karon. Now Taylor returns to the colorful Northern Ireland community of Ballybucklebo, where there's always something brewing beneath the village's deceptively sleepy surface.


The Maiden of Ireland By Susan Wiggs Cover Image
$7.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780778316466
Published: Mira Books - August 26th, 2014

www.SusanWiggs.com

#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs sweeps readers away to the misty coast of Ireland in an irresistible tale of falling in love with the enemy...