LYRC 2020-2021

All That Trash: The Story of the 1987 Garbage Barge and Our Problem with Stuff Cover Image
By Meghan McCarthy, Meghan McCarthy (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481477529
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - February 27th, 2018

An ALA Notable Book

“The year was 1987 and a ship full of trash was about to become famous…The narrative is immensely readable…A fresh take on a story of old garbage guaranteed to spark conversations and a desire for actions among students.


The Art of the Swap Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481478724
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - February 12th, 2019

Freaky Friday meets Downton Abbey in this middle grade mystery that features a modern day twelve-year-old switching bodies with a Gilded Age heiress in order to solve a famous art heist.

Hannah Jordan lives in a museum…well, sort of. She is the daughter of the caretaker for mansion-turned-museum The Elms in Newport, Rhode Island.


Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481443876
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - January 23rd, 2018

“A visually striking, enlightening picture-book biography.” —Booklist (starred review)
“An absolutely indispensable illustrated biography.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“A well-sourced, stirringly told account of an artist.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“For spor


The Boo-Boos That Changed the World: A True Story About an Accidental Invention (Really!) Cover Image
By Barry Wittenstein, Chris Hsu (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580897457
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Charlesbridge - February 13th, 2018

Did you know Band-Aids were invented by accident?! And that they weren't mass-produced until the Boy Scouts gave their seal of approval?


Charlie and Frog Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368006309
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 19th, 2019

Edgar Award Finalist for Best Middle Grade Mystery

All Charlie Tickler wants is for his parents to listen.


Chester Nez and the Unbreakable Code: A Navajo Code Talker's Story Cover Image
By Joseph Bruchac, Liz Amini-Holmes (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780807500071
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - April 3rd, 2018

As a young Navajo boy, Chester Nez had to leave the reservation and attend boarding school, where he was taught that his native language and culture were useless. But Chester refused to give up his heritage. Years later, during World War II, Chester—and other Navajo men like him—was recruited by the US Marines to use the Navajo language to create an unbreakable military code.


Counting on Katherine: How Katherine Johnson Saved Apollo 13 Cover Image
By Helaine Becker, Dow Phumiruk (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250137524
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - June 19th, 2018

The bold story of Katherine Johnson, an African-American mathematician who worked for NASA during the space race and was depicted in the film Hidden Figures.

You've likely heard of the historic Apollo 13 moon landing. But do you know about the mathematical genius who made sure that Apollo 13 returned safely home?


Dear Sister Cover Image
By Alison McGhee, Joe Bluhm (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481451437
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 1st, 2019

“While books on sibling rivalry abound, [Dear Sister] brings freshness to the topic with McGhee's gentle humor and poignant scenarios…Dear indeed.” —Kirkus Reviews
“A meaningful look at…siblinghood and all its foibles.” —Publishers Weekly


What do you do when you have an incredibly annoying little sister?


Fly to the Rescue (Tiny Geniuses #1) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780545909518
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 31st, 2018

MY WEIRD SCHOOL meets MAGIC TREE HOUSE in this engaging chapter book series that seamlessly incorporates science and history themes in a new and entertaining way.

Great minds think alike . . .

Jake Everdale is about to flunk science class and his mom is threatening to pull him off the baseball team. Can the season be saved?

POP!


Hammering for Freedom: The William Lewis Story (New Voices) Cover Image
By Rita Hubbard, John Holyfield (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781600609695
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lee & Low Books - September 25th, 2018

The inspirational story of William Bill Lewis, a hardworking blacksmith who slowly saved his money and bought the freedom of each and every member of his enslaved family.


Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316523974
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: jimmy patterson - August 6th, 2019

What Harry Potter did for magic, Max Einstein does for kids' imaginations! Max leads a group of kid geniuses in this #1 New York Times bestseller officially approved by the Albert Einstein archives.


The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781524767600
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - April 2nd, 2019

A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.


The Phantom Tower Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524739522
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 21st, 2018

Twin brothers discover their new home is also a portal--for an hour a day--to a parallel dimension in this rollicking middle-grade adventure, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society


Saving Fiona: The Story of the World’s Most Famous Baby Hippo Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781328485137
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - June 19th, 2018

The amazing, true story of Fiona, a baby hippo born prematurely at the Cincinnati Zoo, the team of scientists and caregivers who nursed her to health, and the vast community in Cincinnati and beyond who rallied around her. Includes full-color behind-the-scenes photographs throughout.

On a cold January day in 2017, nearly two months before due date, Nile hippo


Strongheart: Wonder Dog of the Silver Screen Cover Image
By Candace Fleming, Eric Rohmann (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101934104
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Schwartz & Wade - February 6th, 2018

For fans of Balto and other real-life dog stories, here's a heavily illustrated middle-grade novel about a canine movie star of the 1920s, dramatically told in both words and pictures by an acclaimed author and a Caldecott Medal-winning illustrator.