LYRC 2023-2024 3-5th Grade

Staff Pick Badge
Allergic: A Graphic Novel By Megan Wagner Lloyd, Michelle Mee Nutter (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338568905
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - March 2nd, 2021

A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel featuring a girl with severe allergies who just wants to find the perfect pet!

At home, Maggie is the odd one out. Her parents are preoccupied with getting ready for a new baby, and her younger brothers are twins and always in their own world.


Staff Pick Badge
Ben Yokoyama and the Cookie of Doom (Cookie Chronicles #1) By Matthew Swanson, Robbi Behr (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Matthew Swanson, Robbi Behr (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593126837
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - June 28th, 2022

"This is my favorite book of the year." —Lincoln Peirce, New York Times bestselling author of Big Nate series
 
Meet Ben, a literal-minded kid with a big heart and an even bigger sweet-tooth, who cracks open a fortune cookie and discovers that TODAY might be his last day on Earth! Perfect for fans of DIARY OF A WIMPY KID or THE TERRIBLE TWO.


Staff Pick Badge
The Floating Field: How a Group of Thai Boys Built Their Own Soccer Field By Scott Riley, Kim Lien (Illustrator), Nguyen Quang (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Scott Riley, Kim Lien (Illustrator), Nguyen Quang (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781541579156
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lerner Publishing Group - March 2nd, 2021

On the island of Koh Panyee, in a village built on stilts, there is no open space. How will a group of Thai boys play soccer?


Staff Pick Badge
The Hiddenseek By Nate Cernosek Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984816764
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 24th, 2021

In this spine-chilling middle grade debut--perfect for fans of Small Spaces and the Goosebumps series--a brother and sister are transported to a cursed world based on the game hide-and-seek, where the only way to get home is to win.

"You hid. But you were not found. You thought you were playing a harmless game. You were wrong."


Staff Pick Badge
Jillian Vs Parasite Planet By Nicole Kornher-Stace, Scott Brown (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nicole Kornher-Stace, Scott Brown (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616963545
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tachyon Publications - July 20th, 2021

Can an anxious eleven-year-old find her chill and save her family from creepy aliens? Only if she's the most awesome, super-brave astronaut since Spaceman Spiff So take a deep breath, grab your sidekick, and blast off with Jillian to Parasite Planet.


Staff Pick Badge
A Kind of Spark By Elle McNicoll Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593374283
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - October 11th, 2022

Perfect for readers of Song for a Whale and Counting by 7s, a neurodivergent girl campaigns for a memorial when she learns that her small Scottish town used to burn witches simply because they were different.

"A must-read for students and adults alike." -School Library Journal, Starred Review
 


Staff Pick Badge
Leonard (My Life as a Cat) By Carlie Sorosiak Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781536225815
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walker Books US - April 12th, 2022

He’s not a stray house cat, he’s an immortal being. And now he must choose whether to return to his planet or remain with his new human friend in a humorous, heart-tugging story from the author of I, Cosmo.


Staff Pick Badge
Let Liberty Rise!: How America’s Schoolchildren Helped Save the Statue of Liberty By Chana Stiefel, Chuck Groenink (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Chana Stiefel, Chuck Groenink (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338225884
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - March 2nd, 2021

How did 121,000 Americans save their most beloved icon? Here is an inspiring story about the power we have when we all work together!

* "This charming history title is a true inspiration for the present.


Staff Pick Badge
Lost Legends: The Rise of Flynn Rider (Disney's Lost Legends) By Jen Calonita Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368044868
Availability: Backordered
Published: Disney Hyperion - September 21st, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Lunch Every Day By Kathryn Otoshi Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781734348200
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ko Kids Books - October 19th, 2021

Every day Jimmy takes 'Skinny Kid's' lunch at school. No way will he be caught dead standing in that FREE LUNCH line. Even when he's called into the principal's office, Jimmy just shrugs. "Yeah. Whatever." Until a surprising act of kindness stops him in his tracks. For a split second a door cracks open into Jimmy's heart. Who knows? Maybe he'll just kick that door right open.