LYRC 2023-2024 6-8th Grade

Ahmed Aziz’s Epic Year By Nina Hamza Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780063024908
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - July 18th, 2023

This hilarious and poignant tween debut—which SLJ heralded as “destined to become a classic” in a starred review—tackles evergreen topics like dealing with bullies, making friends, and the power of good books. A great next read for fans of Merci Suárez Changes Gears and John David Anderson.


Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) By B. B. Alston Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062975171
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 4th, 2022

New York Times bestseller!

Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a series filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor.


Black Boy Joy: 17 Stories Celebrating Black Boyhood By Kwame Mbalia (Editor) Cover Image
By Kwame Mbalia (Editor)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593379967
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - May 30th, 2023

THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • FIVE STARRED REVIEWS

Celebrate the joys of Black boyhood with stories from seventeen bestselling, critically acclaimed Black authors—including Jason Reynolds, Jerry Craft, and Kwame Mbalia.


The Chance to Fly By Ali Stroker, Stacy Davidowitz Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781419743948
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 5th, 2023

From Tony Award–winning actress Ali Stroker and Stacy Davidowitz, The Chance to Fly is an inspiring and heartfelt middle-grade novel about a theater-loving girl who uses a wheelchair for mobility and her quest to defy expectations—and gravity.

“The perfect read for any dream chaser. . . .


The Curse of the Mummy: Uncovering Tutankhamun's Tomb (Scholastic Focus) By Candace Fleming Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338596618
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Focus - September 7th, 2021

Award-winning and critically acclaimed author Candace Fleming presents the edge-of-your-seat true story of the search for Tutankhamun's tomb, the Western public's belief that the dig was cursed, and the battle for ownership of the treasures within.

Scholastic Focus is the premier home of thoroughly researched, beautifully written, and thoughtfully designed works of narrative


Deadman's Castle By Iain Lawrence Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780823451890
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - August 9th, 2022

For most of his life, Igor and his family have been on the run. Danger lurks around every corner--or so he's always been told. . . .


The Golden Hour By Niki Smith Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316540339
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Ink - November 23rd, 2021

Kirkus's Best Middle Grade Books of 2021 Pick

From the author of The Deep & Dark Blue comes a tender graphic novel, perfect for our time, that gently explores themes of self-discovery, friendship, healing from tragedy, and hope for a better tomorrow.

Struggling with anxiety after witnessing a harrowing instance of gun


The Last Cuentista By Donna Barba Higuera Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140893
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Levine Querido - October 12th, 2021

Winner of the John Newbery Medal

Winner of the Pura Belpré Award

From Pura Belpré Award winner and Newbery Medalist, Donna Barba Higuera—a brilliant journey through the stars, to the very heart of what makes us human.

Había una vez . .


Red, White, and Whole: A Newbery Honor Award Winner By Rajani LaRocca Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780063047433
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 3rd, 2023

Newbery Honor Book! A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.


Starfish By Lisa Fipps Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984814524
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - May 2nd, 2023

A Printz Honor Winner!

Ellie is tired of being fat-shamed and does something about it in this highly acclaimed debut novel in verse.


Violets Are Blue By Barbara Dee Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534469198
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - August 30th, 2022

From the author of the acclaimed My Life in the Fish Tank and Maybe He Just Likes You comes a moving and relatable middle grade novel about secrets, family, and the power of forgiveness.

Twelve-year-old Wren loves makeup—special effect makeup, to be exact. When she is experimenting with new looks, Wren can create a different version of herself.


Worst-Case Collin By Rebecca Caprara Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781623541453
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Charlesbridge - September 28th, 2021

This poignant middle grade novel in verse follows twelve-year-old Collin who manages his anxiety by mapping out survival plans for any disaster or worst-case scenario.