LYRC 2024-2025 K-2 Grade

Acorn Was a Little Wild By Jen Arena, Jessica Gibson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jen Arena, Jessica Gibson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534483156
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 15th, 2022

Jory John’s Bad Seed series meets After the Fall by Dan Santat in this charming picture book about a young acorn’s grand adventure and the incredible transformation that follows.

Acorn is a little wild, and from his oak tree perch, he longs for adventure.


Disney Bibbidi Bobbidi Academy #1: Rory and the Magical MixUps By Kallie George, Lorena Alvarez Gomez (Illustrator) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781368066556
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney Hyperion - October 11th, 2022

The Boy Who Loved Maps By Kari Allen, G. Brian Karas (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kari Allen, G. Brian Karas (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984852304
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anne Schwartz Books - July 12th, 2022

This enchanting picture book about a map-making boy who is stumped when a girl asks him for a map of the "perfect place" helps readers appreciate the charms of their own neighborhood--and even shows them how to make a map of it!
 


Chester van Chime Who Forgot How to Rhyme By Avery Monsen, Abby Hanlon (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Avery Monsen, Abby Hanlon (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780759554825
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 15th, 2022

From the coauthor of the smash hit All My Friends Are Dead and the creator of the beloved Dory Fantasmagory chapter book series comes a hilarious read aloud about a boy who loses his gift for rhyme.

There once was a youngster named Chester van ChimeWho woke up one day and forgot how to rhyme.Chester loved rhyming, in poem or song.It always felt righ


Gibberish By Young Vo Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646141104
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Levine Querido - March 1st, 2022

BEST OF THE YEAR
Kirkus · Parents · Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association · Chicago Public Library · Washington Post · Evanston Public Library · Los Angeles Public Library

Charlotte Huck Recommended Book

Common Sense Media Selection


It’s Dat’s first day of school in a new country!


Gigi and Ojiji (I Can Read Level 3) By Melissa Iwai, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Melissa Iwai, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780063208056
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 3rd, 2022

"Gigi crafts her Japanese American identity in this ­enchanting early reader. The cuteness, inclusivity, and cross-cultural problem-solving represented will have young ­readers coming back again and again. A must-buy." —School Library Journal (starred review)


How Old Is Mr. Tortoise? By Dev Petty, Ruth Chan (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dev Petty, Ruth Chan (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419746703
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - June 21st, 2022

With a story from I Don’t Want to Be a Frog author Dev Petty and hilarious graphic novel–style illustrations from Ruth Chan, the picture book How Old Is Mr. Tortoise? will have readers guessing the answer from beginning to end.
It’s Mr. Tortoise’s birthday, and he can’t wait to eat cake with his friends. But there’s a hitch! Mr.


I Am Ruby Bridges By Ruby Bridges, Nikkolas Smith (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ruby Bridges, Nikkolas Smith (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338753882
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orchard Books - September 6th, 2022

Ruby Bridges tells her story as never before and shares the events of the momentous day in 1960 when Ruby became the first Black child to integrate the all-white William Franz Elementary as a six year old little girl -- a personal and intimate look through a child's lens at a landmark moment in our Civil Rights history.

My work will be precious.

I will bridge the "gap"


I Cannot Draw a Horse By Charise Mericle Harper Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781454945949
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Union Square Kids - October 11th, 2022

Award-winning author and illustrator Charise Mericle Harper delivers a fantastically funny picture book about doing the impossible: drawing a horse. A children's metafiction book about creativity and imaginative play centered around an art lesson, Harper cleverly shows readers how drawings are a collection of recognizable shapes put together to create something new.


I'm Terrified of Bath Time By Simon Rich, Tom Toro (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Simon Rich, Tom Toro (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316628334
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 5th, 2022

A hilarious and clever bath-time picture book by humorist, novelist, and TV writer Simon Rich, with illustrations by Tom Toro (How to Potty Train Your Porcupine).
 
And so begins a hilarious dip into the choppy waters of a nightly ritual that parents and children alike often dread.


Knight Owl (Caldecott Honor Book) (The Knight Owl Series #1) By Christopher Denise, Christopher Denise (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316310628
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Christy Ottaviano Books - March 15th, 2022

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A CALDECOTT HONOR AWARD WINNER

A determined Owl builds strength and confidence in this medieval picture book about the real mettle of a hero: wits, humor, and heart. 

Since the day he hatched, Owl dreamed of becoming a real knight.


Lou: A Children's Picture Book About a Fire Hydrant and Unlikely Neighborhood Hero By Breanna Carzoo, Breanna Carzoo (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Breanna Carzoo, Breanna Carzoo (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063054059
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - July 12th, 2022

Don’t miss this humorous and heartwarming picture book by debut creator Breanna Carzoo about an unlikely everyday hero: a fire hydrant! Perfect for fans of The Good Egg and The Bad Seed.

Meet Lou. Lou has an important job . . . as the neighborhood toilet for dogs on their walks.


The Pet Potato By Josh Lacey, Momoko Abe (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Josh Lacey, Momoko Abe (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250834157
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - June 21st, 2022

Jory John meets Sophie's Squash in this delightful, offbeat, and hilarious picture book, The Pet Potato, about finding companionship in unlikely places.

Potatoes can't do anything a pet should. They can't learn tricks, or go for walks, or snuggle up with Albert.


Surviving the Wild: Star the Elephant By Remy Lai Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781250784995
Availability: Backordered
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - April 5th, 2022

Planet Earth meets Narwhal and Jelly in this funny and suspenseful young reader graphic novel adventure series featuring heroic animals! Inspired by true events, the book includes facts about climate change, elephants, and how kids can help protect the environment.


Tiny Dino By Deborah Freedman, Deborah Freedman (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593352649
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - April 19th, 2022

Did you know dinosaurs still roam the earth?