Michelle and Sophie Review: Children of Blood and Bone

Sophie and I recently read and LOVED the same book, so I thought it was only fair for us to jointly review it. Our enthusiasm for Children of Blood and Bone knows no bounds!

M: Holy world building, Batman! This book is fantastic. The world Adeyemi has created is so detailed, the characters are wonderful, even the animals are amazingly described. Add to that the fact that this is a clear allegory to our times and then sit back in awe that this future YA classic is a debut.

I know we both share a love of quality fantasy world building (I am forever in your debt for turning me on to N.K. Jemisin), what else stood out to you with this novel?

S: One of the things I loved best about Children of Blood and Bone was the attention paid to character development. A lot of times authors fall short, leaving some characters somewhat stagnant, unchanged as the story progresses. But Adeyemi manages to move every character along, allowing each of them to learn and grow from every decision made. Another thing I loved was how no character was just a victim. Not a single one went down without a purpose. Adeyemi made sure that every injury and death was built to help drive the narrative. And I have to agree, the world building was absolutely fantastic. I could almost smell the sea-salt scent.

M: You are so right about the characters. The author managed to create a world of extremes and vast difference but tie the characters together in a way that felt genuine. Zelie and Amari compliment each other so well. I cannot wait for further books in this series to dig deeper into the world of Orisha!

S: Everyone should read this book! Children of Blood and Bone is definitely for any reader of fantasy, young and old. It speaks of justice and truth while leading us on an adventure into a world of magic. Anyone who picks this book up will have one difficult time putting it down. 

Books: 
Children of Blood and Bone (Children of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - March 6th, 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.