New Releases - 8/27/2019

Another beautiful Tuesday! We can't wait to see you at the bookshop!

Books: 
Shouting at the Rain Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399175152
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - May 7th, 2019

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Fish in a Tree comes a compelling story about perspective and learning to love the family you have.


The Night Diary Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780735228528
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 23rd, 2019

A 2019 NEWBERY HONOR BOOK

"A gripping, nuanced story of the human cost of conflict appropriate for both children and adults."


Llama Llama Mess Mess Mess Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780670016440
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

Mama Llama teaches Llama Llama a humorous lesson in cleaning up in Anna Dewdney's bestselling Llama Llama series.

Time to pick up all your toys!
Why is Mama making noise?
Mama says it's cleaning day.
Llama only wants to play.


My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399187353
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

National Book Award-finalist Ibi Zoboi makes her middle-grade debut with a moving story of a girl finding her place in a world that's changing at warp speed.


Brave the Page Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780451480293
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

The official NaNoWriMo handbook that inspires young people to tackle audacious goals and complete their creative projects.

Includes pep talks from today's biggest authors! 


Count Me In Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525517245
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 27th, 2019

An uplifting story, told through the alternating voices of two middle-schoolers, in which a community rallies to reject racism.


Shadow School #1: Archimancy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062838285
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 27th, 2019

From the acclaimed author of Nightbooks and The Thickety comes a spooky series, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Gidwitz, and Stranger Things!

Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Still, she didn’t expect the school grounds to be filled with ghosts.


Two Roads Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780735228870
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - August 27th, 2019

A boy discovers his Native American heritage in this Depression-era tale of identity and friendship by the author of Code Talker


Tight Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781524740573
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - August 27th, 2019

* "Maldonado excels at depicting realistic and authentic interactions between middle school boys."--School Library Journal (starred review)

A Washington Post Best Children's Book of 2018!


Big Friends, Little Book Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781423652298
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gibbs Smith - August 27th, 2019

Teach the concepts of opposites and friendship in a colorful way.

Paula V squez's charming illustrations of best friends, Bird and Alligator, help teach opposite concepts of up and down, little and big, open and closed, out and in, short and tall, clean and dirty, dry and wet, noisy and quiet, near and far, awake and asleep to toddlers in a fun, approachable way.


You Are Extraordinary Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781400209156
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Nelson - August 27th, 2019

In You Are Extraordinary, Craig and Samantha Johnson use fun rhymes and colorful pictures to celebrate kids who have unique challenges and gifts. Every page in this book focuses on a different ability or diverse circumstance, such as autism, different ethnicities, unique sizes and body types, physical limitations, cancer, adoptions, and more.


Red House, Tree House, Little Bitty Brown Mouse Cover Image
By Jane Godwin, Blanca Gómez (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525553816
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - August 27th, 2019

A bit Each Peach Pear Plum, a bit Go, Dog, Go!, this read-aloud joy is deceptively simple yet packed with delights for the very young--a preschool standout deserving of modern-classic status.


Once Upon a Goat Cover Image
By Dan Richards, Eric Barclay (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524773748
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

A twisted fairy tale about a king and queen who wish for a child of their own . . . and end up with a baby goat. Perfect for readers of Children Make Terrible Pets and Wolfie the Bunny.


A Place to Land: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Speech That Inspired a Nation Cover Image
By Barry Wittenstein, Jerry Pinkney (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823443314
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Neal Porter Books - August 27th, 2019

Much has been written about Martin Luther King, Jr. and the 1963 March on Washington. But there's little on his legendary speech and how he came to write it. Find out more in this gripping book with illustrations by Caldecott Medalist Jerry Pinkney.


The Girl Who Lived Twice: A Lisbeth Salander novel, continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780451494344
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - August 27th, 2019

The sixth Lisbeth Salander story--the crime-fiction phenomenon that has sold more than 90 million copies worldwide.


Peek-a-Who Too? Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9789888341818
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: minedition - September 1st, 2019

A triangular board book may seem unusual, but Peek-A-Who?, with its cleverly shaped lift-the-flaps, garnered fans from across the children’s book world. This follow-up to the acclaimed original is full of hidden animals, each making different sounds. Can you figure out who each one is? Lift the unique shaped flaps to see who peeks out!


NFL Century: The One-Hundred-Year Rise of America's Greatest Sports League Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635653595
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown - August 27th, 2019

From the former executive director of the Pro Football Hall of Fame comes a sweeping and lively history of the National Football League, timed to coincide with the NFL’s 100th anniversary season.
 


Alexander the Great: His Life and His Mysterious Death Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780425286524
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - August 27th, 2019

What can we learn from the stunning rise and mysterious death of the ancient world’s greatest conqueror? An acclaimed biographer reconstructs the life of Alexander the Great in this magisterial revisionist portrait.