Read This Next! Books to Keep an Eye Out For in February

Read This Next! highlights new books that are receiving exceptional, and exceptionally enthusiastic, buzz from Southern indie booksellers. The past, the present, the eerie future...the February 2024 Adult Read This Next! list shows the compelling stories come in many different guises.

Check out with southern booksellers had to say:

Bride by Ali Hazelwood
The “couldn’t put down”-ness with this book was unreal. A new vampire, werewolf romance that had me enthralled from page one.
– Mekhala Villegas-Rogers from Tombolo Books in St. Petersburg, Florida

Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop by Hwang Bo-reum, Shanna Tan (Trans.)
A tender and wise exploration of the interior lives of a Korean bookshop staff and their customers. Each person's story unfolds quietly. As each one's past comes to meet their present, the community they form opens the way for change and hope. Lovely, in turns melancholy and gently humorous. A must read for all booklovers.
– Jan Blodgett from Main Street Books in Davidson, North Carolina

Wandering Stars by Tommy Orange
As meandering as There, There was propulsive, Wandering Stars takes a while to get going...That is not to say the first part is not interesting or well written—it’s both. It almost feels like two different books. The final hundred or so pages kept me engaged through to the end. Well-written and thought= provoking.
– Caleb Bedford from Lemuria Books in Jackson, Mississippi

The Other Valley by Scott Alexander Howard
In a world where one may travel 20 years into the future or 20 years into the past just to take a look at what happened/will happen, which would you choose? This is the world where The Other Valley exists.
– Kelly Justice from Fountain Books in Richmond, Virginia

Grief Is for People by Sloane Crosley
Always insightful and frequently funny, this memoir was a joy to read even as the subject matter stung.
– Michelle Cavalier from Cavalier House in Books Denham Springs, Louisiana (Hey! That's us!)

Books: 
Bride By Ali Hazelwood Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780593550403
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - February 6th, 2024

#1 Indie Next Pick!
A Hall of Fame LibraryReads pick!
One of People’s Best Books to Read in February


Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop: A Novel By Hwang Bo-reum, Shanna Tan (Translated by) Cover Image
By Hwang Bo-reum, Shanna Tan (Translated by)
$28.99
ISBN: 9781639732425
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 20th, 2024

AN INSTANT USA TODAY BESTSELLER
INDIE NEXT PICK * Debutiful Most Anticipated Book of 2024 * Powell's Pick of the Month

The Korean smash hit available for the first time in English, a slice-of-life novel for readers of Matt Haig's The Midnight Library and Gabrielle Zevin's The Storied Life of AJ Fikry.


Wandering Stars: A novel By Tommy Orange Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593318256
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - February 27th, 2024

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The Pulitzer Prize-finalist and author of the breakout bestseller There There ("Pure soaring beauty."The New York Times Book Review) delivers a masterful follow-up to his already classic first novel.


The Other Valley: A Novel By Scott Alexander Howard Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668015476
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - February 27th, 2024

*Soon to be a TV series*

A Goodreads Most Anticipated Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Horror Book of 2024
Jimmy Fallon’s Book Club Top Four Pick

For fans of Never Let Me Go and The Giver, an elegant and exhilarating literary speculative novel about an isolated town neighbored by its own past and future, and a young girl who spots two el


Staff Pick Badge
Grief Is for People By Sloane Crosley Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374609849
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: MCD - February 27th, 2024

One of the Most Anticipated Books of the Year: TIME, The Washington Post, Vogue, Vanity Fair, Publishers Weekly, Paste, The Millions, Kirkus Reviews, Lit Hub, Real Simple, Nylon, BookPage, The Story Exchange, Sunset, and Zibby Mag