A Read & Review Club Review: Nightborn: Thrones and Bones Book 2 by Lou Anders

The CHB Read & Review Club is for educators and students who enjoy reading and would like to share the joy of reading with others through reviewing and recommending books. As a bookshop, we often receive special review copies of books in advance of their release dates so that we can review them. However, since we can only read so many books and we value the thoughts and opinions of other readers, CHB is recruiting educators and students to read and review advance reader copies (or arcs) of books that we receive, and we'll post their reviews on the Cavalier House Books website via the Read & Review Club Blog!

Caitlin G. (15) is a Read & Review Club member, and she has written a review of the second book in Lou Anders' Thrones and Bones series, Nightborn! Check out what she has to say about the book:

"Nightborn is the enjoyable, fast-paced second book in the Thrones and Bones series written by Lou Anders.  Once again I was able to lose myself in the words that Anders spun onto the page, words of friendship, betrayal, and of course adventure!  Throughout the novel the characters grow immensely through every event that they encounter and become closer to discovering who they are as people.  This novel teaches both the reader and the characters that anyone can become a friend.  People with different places of origin, people with different viewpoints, and people with different personalities all have one thing in common: no one wants to be alone.  Readers of the Magyk series by Angie Sage, and of the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull will enjoy this series not only because of the amazingly awesome magical beings but also because of the dangerous adventures that the characters venture into.  This novel is a wonderful adventure for readers of all age; it is not just for middle grade bookworms. Because of the adventures that friendship tends to bring in this series, I greatly enjoyed this book, and I am very excited to read more exciting novels that Anders has written."

Thanks to Caitlin for her review! And don't miss her review of the first Thrones and Bones book, Frostborn!

Frostborn Cover Image
By Lou Anders, Justin Gerard (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780385387781
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - August 5th, 2014

Fantasy fans of Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice series will embrace this first novel in an adventure-filled, Viking-inspired series by a debut author.
Meet Karn. He is destined to take over the family farm in Norrongard. His only problem? He d rather be playing the board game Thrones and Bones.


Nightborn (Thrones and Bones #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385390361
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - July 14th, 2015

For fans of Lloyd Alexander and Brandon Mull comes Book 2 in the acclaimed Thrones and Bones fantasy-adventure trilogy that began with Frostborn.
 


Septimus Heap, Book One: Magyk Cover Image
By Angie Sage, Mark Zug (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060577339
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 14th, 2006

The first book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series


Fablehaven Cover Image
By Brandon Mull, Brandon Dorman (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416947202
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - April 24th, 2007

Brandon Mull’s New York Times bestselling series about siblings Seth and Kendra who discover their grandparents are the caretakers of a sanctuary for magical creatures!

For centuries mystical creatures of all description were gathered into a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction.