A Read & Review Club Review: Pennyroyal Academy by M.A. Larson

The CHB Read & Review Club is a chance for high school and middle school students who enjoy reading to share the joy of reading with others through reviewing and recommending books. As a bookshop, we often receive special review copies of books in advance of their release dates so that we can review them. However, since we can only read so many books and we value the thoughts and opinions of other readers, CHB is recruiting high school and middle school students who would like to read and review advance reader copies (or arcs) of middle grade and young adult books that we receive, and we'll be posting their reviews on the CHB Blog!

Caitlin G. (14) is a Read & Review Club member, and she has written a review of M.A. Larson's new book, Pennyroyal Academy! Check out what she has to say about the book:

In his debut novel, Pennyroyal Academy, M. A. Larson spins a story of fairy tales, magic and adventures. Larson brings a brand new meaning to the word princess.  Princesses go to Pennyroyal Academy to become trained in fighting witches with their courage and compassion.  Courage and compassion are two things that witches have no ability to feel in their dark hearts; they feed off of the fear that they give their prey.  This book is not just another fairy tale novel; it is very different.  There is a mixture of old fairy tale characters that everyone will recognize and new exciting characters that fit right into their world.  I really enjoyed Pennyroyal Academy because of the well-developed and very likable characters and the interesting plot. I absolutely could not put this book down because of how involved I became with the characters and all of the challenges that they faced.  Fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles will really enjoy this book because of the fairy tales and adventures. People that are big fans of fairy tales will find this book enjoyable as well.  In this magical book filled with princesses, knights, witches, and dragons, the plot twists will send readers’ minds reeling.  I am glad that I read Pennyroyal Academy and hope that there will be more books by Larson to follow.

Thanks to Caitlin for her review! 

Pennyroyal Academy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399163241
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - October 7th, 2014

Set in Grimm’s fairytale world, M.A. Larson’s Pennyroyal Academy masterfully combines adventure, humor, and magical mischief—perfect for fans of The School for Good and Evil.

Pennyroyal Academy: Seeking bold, courageous youths to become tomorrow's princesses and knights… Come one, come all!