A Read & Review Club Review: The Whisperer by Fiona McIntosh

The CHB Read & Review Club is for educators and students who enjoy reading and would like to share the joy of reading with others through reviewing and recommending books. As a bookshop, we often receive special review copies of books in advance of their release dates so that we can review them. However, since we can only read so many books and we value the thoughts and opinions of other readers, CHB is recruiting educators and students to read and review advance reader copies (or arcs) of books that we receive, and we'll post their reviews on the Cavalier House Books website via the Read & Review Club Blog!
 
Emily R. (12) is a Read & Review Club member, and she has written a review of the new novel by Fiona McIntosh called The Whisperer! Check out what she has to say about the book:

The Whisperer by Fiona McIntosh was a pretty good book. In the beginning, I did have some trouble getting into it, but I dove into the story as it got to the end. The Whisperer is about two kids and how much their lives change once they meet. The story is told from Lute and Griff’s perspectives. Lute is a prince next in line for the throne, and Griff is a carnival worker. Griff and his brothers, Matthias and Phineas, were sold to a carnival by their parents when they were young. Master Tyren, the ringleader, originally believed that Griff had special skills like Phineas and Matthias had. They continued to believe that until Griff told them that he could read other people’s minds. Everything changes when Griff and Lute meet. Throughout the book I was consistently reminded of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City by Ransom Riggs.  The characters reminded me of Riggs’ characters due to their special abilities. The thing that I really enjoyed about this book was the two different perspectives. I liked how you could see the difference between the two boys; the characters are very different, and I enjoyed how you could tell that through the writing. Overall, The Whisperer was a good book, one I would recommend.

Thanks to Emily for her review!

The Whisperer Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780553498271
Availability: Special Order
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - April 14th, 2015

In this adventurous retelling of The Prince and the Pauper, the lives of a runaway royal and a carnival worker become intertwined as each is compelled to fight for his life and family. Fans of The Sixty-Eight Rooms and Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy won t want to miss this.


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781594746031
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - June 4th, 2013

The #1 New York Times best-selling series.
 
Includes an excerpt from Hollow City and an interview with author Ransom Riggs
 


Hollow City: The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781594746123
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - January 14th, 2014

The #1 New York Times best-selling series.

Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.